

LCC Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy Minutes January 15, 2020 DRAFT

Members present:

Rep. Jeff Brand

Sen. Rich Draheim

Sen. Chris Eaton

Rep. Peter Fischer

Sen. Michael Goggin

Rep. Josh Heintzeman

Rep. Todd Lippert

Rep. John Poston

Rep. Paul Torkelson

Sen. Bill Weber

Sen. Chuck Wiger

Members excused:

Sen. Kent Eken

Sen. Weber called the meeting of the Subcommittee on Minnesota Water Policy to order at 12:30 p.m. in Hearing Room 10 of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Rep. Poston moved to approve Subcommittee Meeting Minutes from December 18, 2019.

Motion carried.

Catherine Neuschler and Katrina Kessler from MPCA, presented information on water quality standards and revision and permit process.

Randall Doneen, Conservation Assistance and Regulation Section Manager, DNR and Denise Wilson, Director, Environmental Review Program provided information related to the environmental review, assessment, and petition process.

Jim Stark provided his Director's Report. Additionally, he included lists of water issues for subcommittee members to rank their preferences related to moving forward on 2020 water considerations.

Sheila Vanney and LeAnn Buck from the Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts presented information related to the soil and water conservation districts and options for long-term funding,

The February meeting will be held on a Monday evening.

The meeting adjourned at 2:15 p.m.